Kingfisher And Copper.

Kingfisher silhouetteI visited my local nature reserve with the intention of getting some timelapse video footage from one of the hides.
DSC09332
View from the Rothchilds Mere hide.

I set up my camera to take a shot every 6 seconds for 40 minutes. After 15 minutes a Kingfisher landed on an old wooden landing stage right in front of me. I was tempted to cancel my timelapse and get some shots of the Kingfisher but before I had time to make up my mind the Kingfisher flew off.  This colourful little bird returned a few minutes later. This time I decided to cancel my timelapse and start photographing the Kingfisher. I’m glad I did, I got some great shots and video footage of the Kingfisher fishing.

Costa Rica
The red patch on the lower beak indicates that this is a female.

On my walk back to the car I noticed something out the corner of my eye. When I looked I found it was a tiny Small Copper butterfly. I hadn’t seen one of these butterflies at Woodwalton Fen before so I stopped to get a couple of photographs.

Costa Rica
Small Copper butterfly at Woodwalton Fen.

All in all not a bad afternoon. For those of you who were wondering…yes I did get my timelapse as well!

This entry was posted in Bird, Landscape, Nature Reserve, Photograph, The Great Fen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment