Wildlife Survey. Stonechat #2

Binos Silhouette I was out on the Great Fen again this morning for my second Stonechat survey of the year. It was a cold crisp winter morning with frost on my car windscreen. I  got to site at 10am and finished the survey at 1pm. I didn’t see any Stonechats on my last survey and I thought it would be the same today. Only saw one Stonechat right at the end of the survey. I logged my sighting which was a male bird that had been ringed. I managed to get an out-of-focus record shot of the Stonechat before it flew away.

Stonechat Old Decoy small
Record shot of the only Stonechat of the day

The local cattle always seem inquisitive and watch me as I walk around the edge of their field.

Being watched smallDo you ever get the feeling you’re being watched?

As usual there was other wildlife around. I watched a Wagtail for a few minutes  catching insects. I managed to get a photo of the Wagtail about to catch an insect on the wing.

Wagtail-denoise-standard smallA Wagtail about to catch an insect

I’ve seen a Fox during the last three surveys.  Today was no different. I believe this is the same Fox. The sun got quite warm in sheltered spots and this Fox was enjoying the heat on it’s face.

Fox 1-denoise-standard smallA Fox enjoying a bit of heat from the winter sun

There were two Chinese Water deer chasing each other around a field – possibly rutting.

Rutting 1-denoise-standardCould be the start of the rutting season for Chinese Water deer

I found a sheltered spot away from the chilly wind. The perfect place for a rest and a hot chocolate.

20240110_121846 magical glowA well earned rest with a flask of hot chocolate

This entry was posted in Bird, Mammal, Nature Reserve, Photograph, The Great Fen and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment