Good Spring For Grizzled Skippers.

Butterfly silhoueete It’s the time of year when I go looking for butterflies. I start by visiting a local meadow which is good for early butterflies like the Grizzled Skipper and Green Hairstreaks.

Grizzled Skipper-denoise-standardA Grizzled Skipper enjoying the sunshine

There were plenty of Grizzled Skippers around. It seems to have been a good year for them. They normally settle with their wings open but I did find one with its wings up so managed to get a photo showing the underwing. This is the first time I’ve seen one of these skippers with its wings in the raised position.

Grizzled skipper side view-denoise-standard
A Grizzled Skipper showing the underwing

I also managed to get a photo of a Grizzled Skipper laying an egg – another first for me!

Grizzled Egg Laying 2-denoise-standardA Grizzled Skipper laying an egg

There weren’t as many Green Hairstreaks around as previous years but I did manage to find one, all be it a well worn one.

Green Hairstreak 2-denoise-standardA well worn Green Hairstreak butterfly

There were other butterflies flighing around including some Orange-tips. One of these colourful butterflies settled which gave me a photo opportunity.

Orange tip butterfly-denoise-standard
A colourful Orange-tip butterfly

This entry was posted in butterfly and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment