On The Hunt For Mushrooms.

Mushroom silhouetteAutumn is here now. Leaves are changing colour and woodland funghi are appearing.
I decided to visit a local wood at Holme Fen which has been a good place to find and photograph mushrooms in the past.

Holme Fen

I walked along a circular route through the trees occaisionally leaving the path to look for mushrooms and toadstools. I was hoping to find one of my favourites – Fly Agaric, a beautiful but hightly poisonous mushroom. I was in luck, after a couple of minutes search I came across the mushroom I was looking for.

Fly Agaric

There were also several other types of funghi I spotted, photo’s below. I’m not a funghi expert but after a bit of research online I think the first one below is a Glistening Inkcap and one below that is a Common Earthball. Not sure about the bottom one.

This entry was posted in Nature Reserve, Photograph, The Great Fen and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On The Hunt For Mushrooms.

  1. James P Miller says:

    Great Photographs

    Like

  2. Ian says:

    We went looking for fly agaric mushrooms today but had no luck – any tips please? Once found one on a campsite but haven’t been able to find since!

    Like

  3. FenGuy says:

    Hi Ian. I don’t know where you live but Holme Fen in Cambridgeshire is a good spot. The one’s I’ve found are in Woodland and they seem to return every year. I normally get off the path a bit and look underneath trees.Try searching for Fly Agaric on photo web sites like Flickr. There maybe photo’s with a location of where the mushrooms were found. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a comment