First Wildlife Survey Of The Year. Stonechat #1

Binos Silhouette The Great Fen is situated between Peterborough and Huntingdon in Cambridgeshire and consists of two National Nature reserves – Woodwalton Fen and Holme Fen. The Great Fen is undergoing one of largest restoration projects of its type in Europe.  I’m lucky enough to live close to both nature reserves so I decided to become a volunteer wildlife recorder and photographer for the Great Fen. As  volunteers we are asked to do various tasks including checking for signs of water voles, harvest mice nests, moth traps, bird and butterfly transects.

Today was a Stonechat survey. There is an ongoing project to monitor and ring the Stonechat population on the Great Fen.

Stonechat3b-denoise-standardThis is what I was looking for today. Male Stonechat

I started at 10:00 on a cold sunny morning. I’d surveyed the same location previously and sucessfully found and photographed several Stonechats. I wasn’t so lucky this time. I completed the survey in 2 hours 15 minutes but didn’t spot any Stonechats. It was still good to get out in the fresh air and do some exercise.

Although there were no Stonechats there was still plenty of wildlife around. Right at the start of my survey route I spotted a Buzzard on some hay bales.

Buzzard on Hay
A Buzzard

There were plenty of Chinese Water deer around. Once they see you they sprint off at high speed.

Running CWD-denoise-standardChinese Water deer

Flying CWD1-denoise-standardA Chinese Water deer ‘flying’ across the Great Fen.

During the survey three Snipe flew out of the undergrowth. I managed to grab a quick photo of one of these fast flying birds.

snipe-denoise-standard
Snipe

I noticed a few Tufted ducks enjoying the sunshine on a small mere.

Tufteed DucksTufted ducks

Although there were no Stonechats around there small groups of Reed Buntings feeding.

Reed Bunting 2-denoise-standardReed Bunting

Weather permitting the next survey will be next week.

This entry was posted in Bird, Nature Reserve, Photograph, The Great Fen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment